How Can Impulses Have So Much Power Over Me?

I’ve started a new diet regime, which is, what I’m thinking of as, the Beginners Slow-Carb Diet, based on advice from Tim Ferriss in the 4 Hour Body. I’ve been really good with my meals and have requested my food in restaurants to be adjusted to meet the no white carbs approach. That involves being awkward and a bit special.

But today, I almost slipped. I felt a bit down after a conversation, and all I could think of was an XL Double Cheeseburger from Burger King.

I stopped off at that service station and hovered near the Burger King. But I knew it would put me behind, and I knew cheat day was not far away. I’d blast that need on Saturday, and chase it down with a Krispy Kreme donut.

I walked into the grocery store and grabbed a meal that would meet my dietary requirements. And the need for that burger went right away, and now I’m thinking of the good food I’ll eat tomorrow, and the muscle I’m developing because of my high intensity work-out yesterday.

Impulses are powerful things, and it’s so easy to give in, unless you know your goals, when you can safely succumb to those impulses in a controlled environment, and you have a more productive, long-term purpose to strive for.

For me, it’s good bye gut, and hello strength and a slimmer frame.

What impulse are you fighting?

Published by

KG Heath

Digital Health professional, author, and lifestyle blogger.

Leave a Reply

