Disconnection and Becoming More Present

As I write, I’m sitting in the lounge of a cruise ship in the Pacific Ocean, just off the coast of Kauai, Hawaii.

The majority of creature comforts have been taken care of, except the one that has come to define our world – there is no free Internet (access is at a premium we’re not willing to pay). We are completely cut off, with no means to search for an alternate source of Internet.

With no deadlines, and no reason to connect with anyone, forgetting about the web and social-media came very easily. Instead, we have been forced to adopt a willingness to small-talk with strangers, share Ping Pong tables, sit and mull on things under the sun, or stare out at sea.

Being in this situation makes you realise, you don’t NEED followers, connections, likes, faves, or any of the stress and anxiety that comes with it. Instead, you WANT all those things.

There is an important difference between want and need that we need to keep in the forefront of our minds. It’s easy to think that you need everything, when – really – the majority of things in life are wants. If it’s not anything to do with health, wealth, love, and happiness, you can live without it.

It’s not to say that it’s bad to have followers, readers, connections etc. Instead, you just need to keep in mind why you have these things. It’s a mean to an ends.

For me, it’s about building an audience so I can reach people to help and make a difference, to share my stories with people through my books, and to leave a scratch on the world before I leave.

For you, makes sure you are conscious of the feelings dopamine will give you about social-media. Know why you want likes, faves and more followers. And, if what you’re doing makes you feel down, or stressed, just realise that you can walk away at any time.

The other aspect that I have come to appreciate from our disconnection, is that I feel more present. I have seen sights with my eyes (not through the lens of a camera, or an image) that will stay with me for life. I have been able to appreciate the geological mechanics of the world, I have accepted how small and insignificant I am in the context of the world and time. But you know what, that’s fine, because it’s the way things should be.

Be present, go see the world, and strike up conversations with strangers. That’s how you experience a great life.

Let me know how you’ve been present in the comments below and please help someone else by sharing this post.

KG Heath is a healthcare technology professional, horror author, podcaster, and self-improvement blogger. You can get his debut novel free here.

Published by

KG Heath

Digital Health professional, author, and lifestyle blogger.

Leave a Reply

